Posted by: dcmjlive | April 27, 2009

4/10 Top 8 – Attempting to Comment

Due to Holy Week, we went to Baguio and since we don’t have cable…I had to just listen to the performances. And since I don’t know the order of performances, I’ll do it alphabetically with their first names.

Adam Lambert – Madworld

Adam is just pure awesome. Despite the fact I don’t like his Cher-esque voice, he really turned a song into pure genius. He really is the best in the competition by far. He’s most likely going to win.

GRADE: 1.0

Allison Iraheta – I Can’t Make You Love Me

Instead of going with her usual rocker route, she truly showed that she could sing the phone book. And I mean it. She went with a bit more ballad and really went down with a good vocal. Amazing.

GRADE: 1.0

Anoop Desai – True Colors

After destroying an Usher song, he goes back to his true colors (pun intended) and becomes boring yet again. He has decent vocals though. He just doesn’t have the same spark he had when it was Hollywood Week.

GRADE: 2.0

Danny Gokey – Stand by Me

This guy is starting to reimpress me. I mean it. He turned an old classic into a very new song. He really has some innovation implanted into the song. For that, I give Danny a two thumbs up!

GRADE: 1.0

Kris Allen – All She Wants to Do is Dance

I actually don’t get why Simon calls this song overindulgent. I actually like this performance of Kris. Not his best though but it’s still good. I really think he has a lot of Jason Mraz in him this time.

GRADE: 1.25

Lil Rounds – What’s Love Got to Do (With it)

This song is one of my favorites and I could say that Lil Rounds had good vocals. She does have the chops for the song but she doesn’t have enough soul. I just don’t get it. She could do so much better but she’s doing worse.

GRADE: 1.5

Matt Giraud – Part-Time Lover

Finally…SOMEONE DID STEVIE WONDER JUSTICE! I mean Megan did Stevie but she did a dismal job but here, Matt did amazing. Honestly, I was comparing Matt and Kris in terms of vocal ability but now, I’m comparing him with Gokey with their innovations to the songs. OK, I guess Matt, Adam, Kris and Danny all make their songs their own and really do them well. I just loved how he mixed this up.

GRADE: 1.0

Scott Macintyre – The Search is Over

The search is over for the next one to be eliminated and it is Scott. I am happy that he was out this week. But honestly, he did have decent vocals. He’s just too boring because every week, he picks some ballad. It’s too tiring. He needs the funk of other blind guys before him like Stevie Wonder and Ray Charles.

GRADE: 1.5

And here’s a recap of all their grades (minus Scott):

Performer Top 13 Top 11 Top 10 Top 9 Top 8 Average
Kris Allen 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.25 1.05
Adam Lambert 1.00 2.00 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.20
Matt Giraud 1.00 1.00 1.00 2.00 1.00 1.20
Danny Gokey 1.00 2.00 1.25 1.00 1.00 1.25
Allison Iraheta 1.25 1.50 1.00 3.00 1.00 1.55
Lil Rounds 1.00 5.00 2.50 2.00 1.50 2.40
Anoop Desai 2.50 1.00 2.00 5.00 2.00 2.50

As you see, Anoop is my choice for elimination next week. His performance curve is becoming lower and lower.

Leave a Reply

Categories

