Posted by: dcmjlive | April 27, 2009

4/22 Top 7 Redux – Disco Week!!!

After hearing all the performances…I have to say one thing, lots of non-up-tempo songs. It’s one of the things I was searching for in Disco Week. But then again, some brought it on and some failed miserably. On to the grades:

Lil Rounds – I’m Every Woman

Is it just me or has idol tried to sabotage Lil? I mean, is it just bad luck or a sign that Lil should go out of this competition that she lost her voice at the exact time she’s on the chopping board? I sort of understand why her vocals were lackluster. I didn’t like the arrangement at all. Because of her laryngitis, she wasn’t even able to bring those power notes that the song asks you to deliver. And this song is just too used up. My favorite cover of the song was of Vonzell Solomon. She hit notes there that were just out of this world amazing. I think I expected too much from Lil out of this song and she didn’t deliver. Note how Simon influences America to not vote for Lil…

GRADE: 5.0 — Failed performance by a long shot. I didn’t need Simon’s comment to know that was a flop.

Kris Allen – She Works Hard for the Money

I would have to say I was worrying for Kris but in a totally unexpected twist, he changes the song to a bluesy Jason Mraz-y type song. His vocals are right on spot. And I can see the route Kris is going in the music industry. I can’t wait to purchase a Kris Allen album. And honestly, I don’t like the original song so how he changed it up is a bit reminiscent of how David Cook changed up Always Be My Baby to fit his genre. He basically nailed the song and it was just amazing. I can’t believe he was able to make such a great arrangement. He changed the song’s premise from women empowerment to adoring the woman. Oh, did you notice that he went for his genre now again after a ballad. He’s still continuing his feel good then ballad pattern. LOL @ the women’s department comments.

GRADE: 1.0 — Top 3 for sure! Originality, Well-Thought, Non-Karaoke Performances!!!

Danny Gokey – September

Why should Danny get the Earth, Wind and Fire track? WHY!?!?!?! I mean, I wanted someone like Kris, Matt or Anoop to get this song…not him. But then again, I was looking for something in the performance, soul, rhythm and well not blues but excitement. I didn’t like the phrasing and the enunciating much. I think it was tacked on too much. I will give Danny props for mixing in a bit of “I Can See Clearly Now” The first scream was not pleasant. I wasn’t that excited when I heard the song. This is one of the songs I think should be kept original. But this performance reminds me of PYT…but I thought we should be past that part and Simon is right that he didn’t make a special moment there. And vocally, his raspiness doesn’t fit the song. The song should be smooth, not raspy. About pitch, Kara is so wrong. Danny has pitch problems, but he’s just a bit overwhelming. To the girls, is Danny’s voice really sexy?

GRADE: 3.0 — He didn’t ruin one of my favorite songs but I sure didn’t like it that much except for the addition.

Allison Iraheta – Hot Stuff

OK, here’s another totally unexpected twist to the song. I couldn’t imagine this song being rock until Allison did it. And then I was totally dumbed by the fact that Donna Summers did rock it up once. One thing that it lacked for me was that Allison vocal power I heard in Alone. But other than that, I think she was right down good with the vocals. I think she did a good rendition of the song. And, she really has that rocker edge to her that makes me say she’ll go far in the industry. I like how it’s all roughed up and I imagine playing this track on Rock Band or Guitar Hero. HAHAHAHA.

GRADE: 1.5 — A bit more powerful than that and she would have gotten 1.0

Adam Lambert – If I Can’t Have You

Like Kris, Adam has his crazy-ballad pattern that he follows and he was able to do that this week. Also like Kris and Allison, he did something totally out of disco and nailed it. He changed up such an upbeat disco song to something else, a ballad. He has his ballad Superman-style hair and it makes him all clean again. Ryan reminds me that his previous song was already Disco so this had to be all new and it was. Not my favorite song, still like Tracks of My Tears and Mad World more. But the raw emotion needed for ballads was really present. It was as if you were pleading to your loved one. It reminds me of Jennifer Holiday’s vocal in And I’m Telling You, where it had the right amount of desperation in the voice. He brought raw emotion to a song that in original, was just upbeat. One thing to complain, it was too short. I wish it was longer.

GRADE: 1.0 — This person is the next American Idol. There’s no one to contest it. Although…I still want Kris to win. HAHAHA.

Matt Giraud – Staying Alive

I think this is his standing ground song. He’s desperately saying that he is staying alive in this competition thus the bad review from Cowell who wants him dead in this competition like Lil. “I’m going nowhere, somebody help me” is definitely what he thinks of Matt. But for me (am I channeling Randy?), that was a good bounce back from the lack of disco vibe. Unlike the male judges, I liked the performance. Sure, Adam would have done a better performance but I missed this Matt and like what Paula said, this really was a STRIKE! I enjoyed it so much. And it has that Matt vibe that I saw in his original albums. That’s what I loved about it. Too much falsetto additions. There was something unpleasant in the last “note” but he recovered from it.

GRADE: 1.5 — Not as good as Kris or Adam but still good enough to deserve this grade.

Anoop Desai – Dim All The Lights

So Anoop, Kris and Allison all picked Donna Summer… and unlike Kris and Allison, I found this performance is still boring. I didn’t like the arrangement much. His vocal was OK except for the last note. It was just OK, a bit like an up-tempo fast ballad. I would give Anoop props though that he looks better now so he can tap into the demographic that votes because of looks. But like Simon, I do think it is mediocre at best although, it wasn’t his worst performance, which is Caught Up.

GRADE: 3.0 — A mediocre performance merits a mediocre grade.

So from this, my bottom three are Danny, Anoop and Lil. But before I say who I think goes home, let’s review the grades, shall we?

Performer Top 13 Top 11 Top 10 Top 9 Top 8 Top 7.1 Top 7.2 Average
Kris Allen 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.25 1.00 1.00 1.04
Adam Lambert 1.00 2.00 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.14
Allison Iraheta 1.25 1.50 1.00 3.00 1.00 1.75 1.50 1.57
Danny Gokey 1.00 2.00 1.25 1.00 1.50 1.75 3.00 1.64
Matt Giraud 1.00 1.00 1.00 2.00 1.00 5.00 1.50 1.79
Anoop Desai 2.50 1.00 2.00 5.00 2.00 1.50 3.00 2.43
Lil Rounds 1.00 5.00 2.50 2.00 1.50 1.25 5.00 2.61

So in seeing this grades, my bottom three consists of Matt, Anoop and Lil. Also, I think this is the week we say goodbye to both Lil and Anoop. If so, good riddance.

Leave a Reply

Categories

