Posted by: dcmjlive | May 6, 2009

Top 4 Rock Week: Kris Thrown Under The Bus, Run Over Again, Beat to a Pulp

I just got to say that a great injustice has been done to Kris. They added insult to injury. The injury is that Kris is a fish out of water. The insult there is pairing him with Gokey, being insulted by the judges esp. Simon, performing again after being berated and had given his all in the duet, then being insulted again. They’re clearly wanting him out of the running. Poor Kris being the mangled puppet by the producers and judges. But the insult doesn’t end there, Adam gets the first and last of the night. And they paired Adam with Allison. That’s like pitting Mr. & Mrs. Fantastic against Toad of XMen (Gokey) and Cyclops (Kris). Thus him being pimped too much…in two consecutive weeks.

This week, due to the injustice, I’m giving handicaps. Since Adam and Allison are rock by heart AND that they got EXCELLENT positioning, I’ll be more critical of them. While, Kris will get a big consideration bonus for the injustice done to him. Here comes the grading:

Adam Lambert – Whole Lotta Love

Adam is of course in his element. But what shocks me is that he has his early pitch moments. I know rock is supposed to be awesome but I couldn’t stomach the first part. But halfway through, he went and did amazingly. Too bad though, I couldn’t feel him as much. It fell flat a bit for me.

GRADE: 1.0 (96)— Cranking up the volume, you could hear how good it was.

Allison Iraheta – Cry Baby

Allison too is in her element. And honestly, she is damn pitch perfect. And also, he learned something from last week and infused emotion again. I mean that was amazing. I was about to cry at how good she was. So even if I’m so critical to these two tonight, she gave the BEST SOLO PERFORMANCE OF THE NIGHT!!!

GRADE: 1.0 (100) — No need for explanations.

Kris Allen and Danny Gokey – Renegade

Since I’m giving Kris bonus points, this duet will be graded separately instead of as a duet. I would have to say that these two are the fishes out of water in this genre but heck, I have to applaud them. Their harmonies were just in sync and remind me of Hollywood week where both Kris and Gokey made beautiful harmonies…with different groups. They were pretty good on pitch too. Simon is so wrong when he said Danny outsang Kris. Danny sang the melody while Kris sang the voices. The difficulty of Kris’s parts is higher than Danny’s. There just is a disconnect between the two when it came to the stage presence. Since it’s not Kris’s fault…here are the grades:

KRIS: 1.0 (96)

DANNY: 5.0 (50)

Kris Allen – Come Together

In no way can Kris compare to Carly Smithson. But then again, that’s like comparing James Taylor to Freddie Mercury. He took an arrangement that was really rock and needed a lot of energy. Sadly, he wasn’t able to give that much energy but he did have to perform right after performing Renegade so no minus points there. He sort of said the words at parts. At least it wasn’t pitchy. But really, he outsang Danny Gokey tonight. It must be the lack of energy because it’s the only time he didn’t connect with me.

GRADE: 1.25 (92) — Listening back, it was something that could go on to his record. Few pitch problems but still really good.

Danny Gokey – Dream On

This performance is just SOOOO unbearable. He did good when he wasn’t in the middle of the songs where he just sounded like the girl in HSM1 hugging the piano. And him trying to take it to church wasn’t obvious. Lastly, Danny trying to impersonate Adam and failing MISERABLY in such a way that my ears just burst and had to screech out as well in saying WHAT THE F*** was that!!!

GRADE: 5.0 (And that’s generous, it should be 10…it’s the worst performance. If I put it in a transmutation table…he gets a 0 out of 100)

Adam Lambert & Allison Iraheta – Slow Ride

The wonder pair, Mr & Mrs. Fantastic are just that fantastic. But it is their genre so it was sort of expected. But I can’t help but still give them:

GRADE: 1.0 (100)— I can’t help it, it was just too good.

If you noticed, I put transmutation grades now over 100. Just so you can objectively see it more. By the life of me, I’m not listening to the judges anymore.

Here’s the summary of grades:

Performer Top 13 Top 11 Top 10 Top 9
Kris Allen 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00
Adam Lambert 1.00 2.00 1.00 1.00
Allison Iraheta 1.25 1.50 1.00 3.00
Danny Gokey 1.00 2.00 1.25 1.00
Performer Top 8 Top 7.1 Top 7.2 Top 5
Kris Allen 1.25 1.00 1.00 1.00
Adam Lambert 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00
Allison Iraheta 1.00 1.75 1.50 1.00
Danny Gokey 1.50 1.75 3.00 1.25
Performer Top 4S Top 4D Average
Kris Allen 1.25 1.00 1.05
Adam Lambert 1.00 1.00 1.10
Allison Iraheta 1.00 1.00 1.40
Danny Gokey 5.00 5.00 2.28

After that, Danny should LEAVE! I MEAN SHOO! PUT THE GO IN GOKEY!!! Even if I put down Kris’s grades, it will still be way higher than Danny.

But who I predict will leave…poor Kris. I hope they don’t. But it seems TPTB want him gone. If he does leave, I do hope Kris gives them a run for their money.

Responses

  1. I edited the grades of Adam (solo), Danny (duet) and Kris (solo) because listening to it again made me realize things. Just look for the “Grade edit” because it’ll show why I decided to edit it.

  2. Shouldn’t Kris get bonus points for his awesome electric guitar playing??

    • He did, that’s why he got 96/100…LOL

  3. Scores are reedited. I made a mistake of not being able to edit it.

    Solos:
    Kris gets 1.25 isntead of 2.0
    Adam gets 1.0 instead of 2.0

    Duets:
    Danny gets 5.0 instead of 2.0


Leave a Reply

Categories

