Posted by: dcmjlive | March 17, 2010

Top 12 – The Rolling Stones Week

Well, I wouldn’t really give in depth reviews now because I still don’t have the luxury of time to do so. This time, since Kradison changed the name of the game, the reviews would center on overall performance. Interestingly, all of these songs are the first time we hear it on the AI stage except Paint It, Black, but I don’t think anyone would remember Gina Glocksen’s performance of that…

Michael Lynche – Miss You

Big Mike definitely is bringing his game on the table. He worked with a lot of falsetto runs and could I just say I’m amazed. But if it weren’t for those runs, the performance would have been bland and awkward. Simon was dead on when he talked about the dance moves. This is the stones, he’s singing a very bluesy song. It does not call for amateur movements. It calls for a more sincere on-stage presence.

GRADE: 2.0

Didi Benami – Play With Fire

I can’t get Ellen’s comment out of my head…she did make Fire two syllables. LOL. But really, her interpretation was just so moving. I mean come on, that definitely has to be Didi’s best performance. And although I am against glory notes, she delivered  a really good one and one that shows the same passion as what the song calls for.

GRADE: 1.25

Casey James – It’s All Over Now

There was a time in his performance that he wasn’t even playing the guitar but just strumming it. LOL. But Casey was spot on with the vocal and really brought the blues, country, soul feel that the song needs. He just needs to complete his phrasing. Lastly, I felt he could have rocked out with that song but he decided to stay stationary. He should have utilized the big stage so he  could have made more impact.

GRADE: 1.75

Lacey Brown – Ruby Tuesday

Again, Ellen is  pretty dead on with the critique. The dynamics didn’t call for the stage utilization. And my problem with Lacey is that she does sing but she still doesn’t have that connection with me. She still lacks the reaching out and of course she had occasional pitch problems.

GRADE: 2.25

Andrew Garcia – Gimme Shelter

I don’t know if the song is for him but it really is a different side that I’ve seen from Andrew where he decides to showcase his vocals instead of maintain his normal changing the song up to some acoustic arrangement and deliver it in a weird way. Again, Straight Up is the only performance of his where he had good connection to the song while lately, he keeps falling short. I don’t know what Randy is saying because I didn’t think it was pitchy all over the place.

GRADE: 2.75

Katie Stevens – Wild Horses

I don’t know about you but Katie improved this week. It’s the first week that she finally gave a very mature performance without making it sound that the song is too old for her. In short, she finally connected with the song and stripped it down. It was smart for her to choose a song that showed her power vocals.  What I was actually hoping is that:
1. She should have never got out of that chair
2. She should have started acapella.
But nonetheless, pretty powerful performance. I think she finally deserved her performance. But then again…

GRADE: 2.25 — She wasn’t as good as the others…

Tim Urban – Under My Thumb

That’s the problem with expectations. For a rolling stone fan, the song could never work in that kind of arrangement. The song really isn’t written to be folk, bluesy and reggae. The song was written to be about revenge-sex. But that being said, I liked it. I actually got it, and it did showcase Tim’s vocals. He took on the song, got the lyrics that he felt would appeal to the style he would take on, showed us what kind of an artist he could be and most importantly, he didn’t attempt to go beyond his limits knowing he can’t.

GRADE: 2.25 — Kill me now Idolverse but sorry, I actually did like it. He still needs to learn how to connect though to the song in a way that the stage size would not be important. But I also didn’t think that the stage did eat him up. And I like the idea of sitting in a beach drinking pina coladas and listening to that version.

Siobhan Magnus – Paint It, Black

I honestly am not a fan of the middle transition background accompaniment of the song because the build up didn’t suit the vocals of Siobhan. But from start to finish, she interpreted the song really really really well. And honestly, it really is comparable to Adam Lambert from like Kara said, the stairs, the background and the scream. And really, there was a point where the scream got unbearable. But I can’t let go of the fact that the overall performance was really good. So I’m torn actually but I’ll give her…

GRADE: 1.5

Lee DeWyze – Beast of Burden

Did I say that I love the tone of the voice of Lee? Because honestly, he’s shaping up to be that right recording artist. Problem is the nerves but he did really really well tonight. He just needs to bring more to the table but by the next week, he should really do what Kris and Adam did and really just feel it’s not a problem.

GRADE: 1.25

Paige Miles – Honky Tonk Women

She, I think is back. And I think the laryngitis that she got actually helped her and gave a good rasp to her voice. I think it was actually a very solid performance.

GRADE: 1.75

Aaron Kelly – Angie

I find it interesting with Aaron that he didn’t use heavy vocals. He actually toned it down, used his limits well, and tried to connect well to the song. It actually seemed very clean. I still think though that there’s something missing that I just can’t point out. But he’s also bringing his game now like Katie.

GRADE: 1.75

Crystal Bowersox – You Can’t  Always Get What You Want

Wow, she’s delivering a very cool performance that is not strained or over done. It’s actually pretty perfect. You know who she reminds me of, David Cook. It’s effortless and yet such a great interpretation. And it really is a feel good performance and it is both easy on the eyes and ears.

GRADE: 1.0

So no one actually sucked and fell below 3.0 which is the passing grade.  This is actually a good night.

Here are my personal favorites:

  1. Crystal Bowersox
  2. Didi Benami
  3. Lee Dewyze
  4. Casey James

And the ones who are on the chopping block:

  1. Andrew Garcia
  2. Tim Urban
  3. Lacey Brown or Katie Stevens

Who I want home: Andrew Garcia

Leave a Reply

Categories

