Posted by: dcmjlive | April 28, 2010

Top 6 sing Shania Twain

With Shania week, people would most likely have people think that those that have country leanings do well. But Shania did more than country and that’s why her music is so much more relevant, much more pop and much more rock. With the contestants, it would be important to feel the connection as much as the originality of the performance.

Lee DeWyze – You’re Still The One

Looks like we made it, look how far we’ve come now baby.

With Lee, Kara is right, Lee has made much progress in terms of his confidence on stage. That is a plus. But a problem with Lee is now leaning towards the true connection to the song. I think he went to his husky vocals very prematurely and in the chorus, he sang so loud, I felt he was shouting at me. Pitchwise, it’s good but still, it isn’t a moment. Lee was definitely overpraised.

GRADE: 2.5

Michael Lynche – It Only Hurts When I’m Breathing

Thing with Lynche is, he has his moments in the song. I don’t think he’s consistent throughout the song though but as a whole, it was a pretty good vocal. There are a little more subtleties that he could have done but at least he was very connected.

GRADE: 1.5

Casey James – Don’t

Actually, from what I’ve heard tonight, he actually has the best vocal. I repeated the performance again just to hear the vocal clearly because despite a beautiful arrangement (the dynamics were just right), the bandzilla strikes again. I think the band was a tad too loud in the latter part of the song. But the performance was really nice. It’s this kind of Casey that works and not the stiff one. Casey has this deep soulful voice that is marred usually by fun songs. His sensibilities truly come out with songs like these.

GRADE: 1.25

Crystal Bowersox – No One Needs To Know Right Now

If someone has a beautiful falsetto, it’s Crystal. The song was beautifully sung. Thing was, I didn’t get it. I guess songs like these, I don’t really get. It’s not that bad. But it’s the most country out of the songs though. But yeah, I don’t know what to feel because yes, Simon took the words out of the tip of my tongue, there was a lack of conviction.

GRADE: 2.25

Aaron Kelly – You’ve Got A Way

What I like about this performance is that it balanced what range of Aaron suits him. It was a pretty good vocal but there was something about the original that makes his vocal a wee step lower than Shania’s. He did feel the song and I’ll give that to him. Really good performance actually.

GRADE: 1.0

Siobhan Magnus – Any Man of Mine

If there’s a performance that thrilled me, blew me away and at the same time, made me think that there were loads of bum times…it’s Siobhan. I don’t know what to make of it. I don’t know…uh, should I call it the most exciting performance of the night…YES. If I could call it the best peformance of the night…YES. But the best vocal…NO, it was the WORST. Man, I’m so conflicted. It had great dynamics, it was a great performance but the vocal was just bleh. It’s just a breathe of fresh air because it’s a performance that you can compare to the ones of Season 8 where everything was exciting. I’m so confused that I’ll grade her:

GRADE: 1.0

Favorite performances: Siobhan, Aaron and Casey
Least-liked performances: Crystal, Lee

Man, this is going to be interesting.

Leave a Reply

Categories

