Posted by: dcmjlive | May 12, 2010

Top 4 Duets

I’m separating this from the solos because I couldn’t help myself but focus on these first. What with two songs that have been covered on the idol stage LAST SEASON, these performances are fresh in my memory so I might reference them here and there. (Note: These songs were also sung during the same theme week.)

Crystal Bowersox and Lee DeWyze – Falling Slowly by Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova from the movie, Once

To start off, it is important to state that had Kris Allen not done this song, it wouldn’t be cleared yet for Crystal and Lee.  That being said, I wouldn’t really compare it to Kris’s. Kris had a true moment with the song and stayed pretty much true to the message of the original.

What Crystal and Lee did was bring beautiful harmonies to the song. I would have to commend Crystal and Lee for a much melodic and harmonious arrangement that brought out the voice of each artist. At first, I felt weird about the answering styling but there were certain parts that I felt were well thought out by how it was phrased. The blending of the voices was pretty near perfect but not quite there. And I was surprised at the counterpoint, which again brought out their voices well enough.

What the pair lacked though was a true connection to the meaning of the song. That connection is what brought out the real moment for Kris. I’m thinking that they knew Kris did it and they decided to change the arrangement so that they won’t be compared to Kris but for it to be a Kris moment, something had to come up. By changing up the melody, it changed the subtlety, the shyness, the desperation of the song. It was too energetic, hyped and the vibe that came out of it is that they were ready to tell each other their feelings rather than that hope that each one would come out to each other and say that I love you.

So while the pair did an awesome job vocally, they lacked what would make it a moment: a true understanding of the song. I appreciate though how they upped their game from before and honestly, it is single-handedly the best performance of the season.

GRADE: 1.5

Michael Lynche and Casey James – Have You Ever Really Loved A Woman by Bryan Adams

I don’t know. For me male duets always seem weird, especially when the song is a love song. HAHAHA. What the first pair did not have is what the guys though did have. The guys had such understanding for the song. If you listen to it closely, the song has a lot of subtlety, passion and vulnerability. For me the intention worked. It was still lacking in passion as compared to Matt Giraud though.

But also, the vocals were not as good though as Crystal-Lee. The blending isn’t that much what I expected it to be. It felt weird that Casey showcased his falsetto here and it felt like a bromance especially when Lynche looked at James. Somehow, funnily, I thought the two were singing it to each other and how they were so in love with each other that they were questioning each other’s gender only to fall in love with each other in the end. Damn, that sounded wrong. But really, I would have to commend their arrangement as well. I think it was well thought out.

GRADE: 1.75

So there you have it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

